The Right Time to Travel

Is there a right time for you to travel somewhere?  Just because all your friends and colleagues have visited the top holiday destinations, does it mean you have to as well? And if you do, will you enjoy it more or less? That is what it is like for me. I have to feel a strong enough pull towards a country before I can fully appreciate all it has to offer.

In other words, it is not necessarily the right time for you to travel to that place everyone raves about. You may not see its beauty or enjoy it as much as you would if you went in a year’s time. The timing of your travel will have a lot to do with how you feel at any given point in time.

This week I have finally ventured off to Bali.  A place I would never have considered visiting before now. Hundreds of Australians, friends and colleagues, have been there numerous times over the years.  Yet I have never felt that pull towards Bali until now. Of course, Australians have been portrayed in the media as drunk, obnoxious and loud which left me with a not so nice impression of what holidays in Bali would be like.

What has lured me to Bali? Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that I have changed a lot in the last year. Following the unfortunate death of my mother last year I have felt the pull towards the spiritual centre of the world known as Bali.

My interest in yoga and meditation practice and taking time out to focus on myself also increased my interest in Bali. After browsing many yoga retreats and resorts and exploring virtual Bali, I found myself needing to be there at this point in time.

Travel is something that has the power to leave a life changing impact on you. So choosing the right destination for the right reason (and at the right time) makes al the difference. It makes the journey every bit more special.

As we travel through life and the world we change things little by little and leave behind our mark on a destination and its people.  In return, life and travel leaves its mark on our hearts and minds forever.

Photo courtesy of Google Clip Art Gallery

 

 

 

2 Replies to “The Right Time to Travel”

Please share your thoughts

