A Restless Traveller

The restless traveller? Yes, that is me.  Everytime I return home to Australia, I always want more and start planning my next big adventure.  The travel bug never dies!

No matter how long it’s been since my last trip, admittedly, the last time I was overseas was in 2012.  The furthest I have been since then is a short weekend mini break interstate to Melbourne and Sydney. So yes, I am hungry to explore the world again.

In July I will head off on a journey to Greece and Italy of which I am really looking forward to.  The last couple of years have been busy with work, restructures, changes and the completion of my degree in Human Resource Management.  This trip will be a celebration as well as a chance to reflect on the future.

Maybe like in the movie “Eat Pray Love” – great move by the way – we all get to a point like Julia Roberts and have a mid-life crisis “moment”. Whether we’re old enough or not, we realise it is time to take a step back and concentrate on what is really important..

Travel is a time to get away and refocus from my daily routine.   Is this really what I want to do forever?  Where does my passion really live?  On this trip I want to focus on my writing and with such beautiful settings in Greece and Italy – well this is the perfect opportunity.

Travel is a great way to open ourselves up to new experiences, cultures and surroundings.  It takes us out of comfort zone and challenges the beliefs  and ideals we have always known.  From these experiences we then become stronger (hopefully wiser) and more appreciative of the world around us.

Photo by Google Clipart
Photo by Google Clipart

2 Replies to “A Restless Traveller”

  1. It’s been over 40 years since my last trip overseas. And I agree, those trips do give you a deeper appreciation of the world around us. With 3 dogs to take care of on a somewhat limited budget, I must stick to “staycations”; but I don’t really mind. I wouldn’t exchange my multi-pet mania for all the money in the world!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you My Golden Life. If I had cute dogs like yours then I would stay with them too. I agree, travel definitely goves you an apprciation of the world but also apprciate what we have in our own backyards.

      Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts

